Baseball Hall of Fame announcement: How to watch, which Phillies will be inducted in 2019?

Roy Halladay #34 of the Philadelphia Phillies (Photo by Drew Hallowell/Getty Images)
Roy Halladay #34 of the Philadelphia Phillies (Photo by Drew Hallowell/Getty Images) /

Fans will soon learn who the next former Phillies star to be inducted into the Baseball Hall of Fame will be.

Phillies fans are likely to learn that one of their own will be enshrined into the Baseball Hall of Fame this summer when the museum announces this year’s inductees on Tuesday, Jan. 22, 2019.

Roy Halladay is among nine former Phillies on the Baseball Hall of Fame ballot this year, and is tracking remarkably well among the announced ballots on Ryan Thibodaux’s Hall of Fame tracker.

Here’s how you can watch the 2019 Baseball Hall of Fame announcement:

Date: Tuesday, Jan. 22
Time: 6:00 P.M. ET
Television: MLB Network

Tuesday comes just over 14 months since Halladay’s tragic passing in a plane crash off the coast of Florida. Last year Philadelphia inducted him onto the Wall of Fame, and this summer the baseball world will shine down on the former ace.

Halladay is expected to be just the third former Phillie in the last decade to be inducted into Cooperstown, joining Jim Thome and Pedro Martinez.

More from Phillies News

With 52.7 percent of the votes made public, Curt Schilling is currently tracking at 70.5 percent. The next closest former Phillie legends are Scott Rolen at 20.7 percent and Billy Wagner at 16.6 percent.

The other former Phils on the ballot for the first time (Juan Pierre, Michael Young, Freddy Garcia, Roy Oswalt, Placido Polanco) are likely to be one-and-done on the writer’s ballot.

Oswalt, Young, and Polanco each received at least one vote, but are unlikely to pick up the necessary five percent to remain on next year’s ballot.

Next. Bobby Abreu has a Hall of Fame case to be made. dark

Former Phillie stars expected to debut on the Hall of Fame ballot next year include Bobby Abreu, Raul Ibanez, and Cliff Lee. Abreu and Lee could each get some attention, but none are predicted to be Hall of Famers.