Phillies History: Taking a Look Back on Phillies MVP Winners

6 of 6
Phillies /

2007 MVP Award Winner Jimmy Rollins

The Phillies produced back-to-back MVP winners in 2006 and 2007, with Ryan Howard taking home the award first and Jimmy Rollins earning it the next season. Rollins paired this MVP with his first of four Gold Gloves along with his only Silver Slugger.

Rollins played in every game for the Phillies in 2007 as they won their first division title since 1993. He led the National League with 139 runs and 20 triples. Rollins also posted a tremendous .296/.344/.531 line and 41 stolen bases to go along with his Gold-Glove caliber defense.

Rollins was worth 1.2 wins above replacement on defense alone, and was worth 5.6 wins on offense. They combined to produce a career-high 6.1 rWAR for Rollins.

Next: Not Too Early For Phillies To Acquire A Veteran

When it came down to the voting, Rollins had his own voting battle with Matt Holliday, then of the Colorado Rockies. Rollins received just half of the 32 first-place votes, with Holliday receiving 11 and Milwaukee’s Prince Fielder receiving five. That was still enough to earn Rollins the lone MVP award of his career in Philadelphia.