Phillies History: Roy Halladay wins Cy Young, 10 years ago

Roy Halladay #34 of the Philadelphia Phillies (Photo by Jeff Zelevansky/Getty Images)
Roy Halladay #34 of the Philadelphia Phillies (Photo by Jeff Zelevansky/Getty Images) /

Phillies ace Roy Halladay was named the unanimous National League Cy Young Award winner, 10 years ago today

Ten years ago today, November 16, 2010, late Philadelphia Phillies ace Roy Halladay was named the unanimous winner of the National League Cy Young Award — his second career such honor, after previously winning it with the Toronto Blue Jays in the American League seven seasons prior.

In doing so, Halladay became just the second pitcher all-time to toss a perfect game and win a Cy Young Award in the same season, joining Sandy Koufax (1965); also, he became just the fifth pitcher ever — joining fellow greats Roger Clemens, Randy Johnson, Pedro Martinez, and Gaylord Perry — to earn the Cy Young Award in both leagues.

Not to mention, that season, Halladay became the only pitcher in Major League Baseball history to throw a perfect game and no-hitter in the same season.

Outside of his perfect game and postseason no-hitter, Halladay’s statistics alone proved he was much deserving of the hardware. He went 21-10 with a 2.44 ERA, while striking out 219 batters spanning 250 2/3 innings. The right-hander led the National League in wins, and led all of baseball in innings pitched, compete games (9), and shutouts (4).

Halladay bested second-place award finisher Adam Wainwright of the St. Louis Cardinals — who went 20-11 with a 2.42 ERA — as well as third-place finisher Ubaldo Jimenez of the Colorado Rockies, who went 19-8 with a 2.88 ERA. All three pitchers tossed 33 starts for their respective teams. Doc’s teammate, Roy Oswalt, finished in sixth place; he went 13-13 with a 2.76 ERA combined between the Houston Astros and Phillies that season.

Related Story. Phillies History: Larry Bowa named 2001 Manager of the Year. light

Since Halladay, only three other pitchers have been named unanimous Cy Young Award winners: Clayton Kershaw (2014), Justin Verlander (2011), and Shane Bieber (2020).

There’s no doubt that Halladay’s 2010 season, and overall Phillies career from then to 2013, will never be forgotten. Rest in peace, Doc.

More. New pitching coach could lure Trevor Bauer to Phillies. light