Phillies: Starting pitchers, Gabe Kapler receive award votes

Gabe Kapler (22) and Philadelphia Phillies pitcher Aaron Nola (27) (Jonathan Dyer/USA TODAY Sports)
Gabe Kapler (22) and Philadelphia Phillies pitcher Aaron Nola (27) (Jonathan Dyer/USA TODAY Sports) /

Gabe Kapler, Aaron Nola, and Zack Wheeler received award consideration

No member of the 2020 Philadelphia Phillies team received an end-of-year award — not even third baseman Alec Bohm, who put up impressive numbers but still finished tied for second for the Rookie of the Year Award.

As far as the recently announced Cy Young and Manager of the Year awards, no Phillies pitcher nor Joe Girardi were among the finalists. However, right-handed starting pitchers Aaron Nola and Zack Wheeler, as well as Girardi’s predecessor, Gabe Kapler, did garner some award consideration.

Cy Young Award

The Cincinnati Reds’ Trevor Bauer came away with the 2020 National League Cy Young Award, accumulating 201 points thanks to 27 first-place votes. Then followed Yu Darvish of the Chicago Cubs (123 points), Jacob deGrom of the New York Mets (89), Dinelson Lamet of the San Diego Padres (57), Max Fried of the Atlanta Braves (15), and Corbin Burnes of the Milwaukee Brewers (12).

Coming in after Burnes for seventh place was no other than Nola (3); in 2020, the ace went 5-5 with a 3.28 ERA, 1.079 WHIP ratio, and an MLB-best two complete games. Also, the Phillies’ Wheeler finished in 12th place, receiving 1 point after going 4-2 with a 2.92 ERA and 1.169 WHIP in his first season in red pinstripes.

Nola received one fourth- and fifth-place vote each, while Wheeler received one fifth-place vote.

Manager of the Year Award

The Miami Marlins’ Don Mattingly was the overwhelming winner of the 2020 National League Manager of the Year Award, earning 124 points thanks to 20 first-place votes. Following Mattingly were Jayce Tingler of the San Diego Padres (71 points), David Ross of the Chicago Cubs (25), Brian Snitker of the Atlanta Braves (16), Dave Roberts of the Los Angeles Dodgers (13), Mike Shildt of the St. Louis Cardinals (10) and Craig Counsell of the Milwaukee Brewers (6).

Coming in for eighth place was the former Phillies skipper Kapler, who led the Giants to a better-than-expected 29-31 record during the 2020 season. Kapler was the recipient of three third-place votes.

The Most Valuable Player Award winners will be announced Thursday evening; National League MVP finalists include Mookie Betts (Dodgers), Freddie Freeman (Braves), and Manny Machado (Padres). Perhaps Bryce Harper, J.T. Realmuto, or even Didi Gregorius can be among the vote recipients of the prestigious honor.

More. Phillies among ‘strong candidates’ to land Francisco Lindor. light