Phillies: Bryce Harper among 2020 Hank Aaron Award finalists

Bryce Harper #3 of the Philadelphia Phillies (Photo by Douglas P. DeFelice/Getty Images)
Bryce Harper #3 of the Philadelphia Phillies (Photo by Douglas P. DeFelice/Getty Images) /

Phillies slugger Bryce Harper is among the finalists for the 2020 Hank Aaron Award

With the Major League Baseball postseason and subsequent offseason come highly anticipated awards; among them including the Hank Aaron Award — bestowed annually to the “most outstanding offensive player” in each league. On Wednesday, MLB announced the award’s 2020 finalists, seven in each league — among them including Philadelphia Phillies outfielder Bryce Harper.

American League Hank Aaron Award Finalists

  • Jose Abreu, Chicago White Sox
  • Nelson Cruz, Minnesota Twins
  • Teoscar Hernandez, Toronto Blue Jays
  • DJ LeMahieu, New York Yankees
  • Brandon Lowe, Tampa Bay Rays
  • Jose Ramirez, Cleveland Indians
  • Mike Trout, Los Angeles Angels

National League Hank Aaron Award Finalists

  • Freddie Freeman, Atlanta Braves
  • Paul Goldschmidt, St. Louis Cardinals
  • Bryce Harper, Philadelphia Phillies
  • Manny Machado, San Diego Padres
  • Corey Seager, Los Angeles Dodgers
  • Dominic Smith, New York Mets
  • Juan Soto, Washington Nationals

These finalists were determined after all 30 Major League Baseball teams submitted one player to be considered; then, a panel of writers narrowed the list down to seven in each league. The Hank Award Award was created in 1999 to honor the 25th anniversary of the Hall of Famer breaking Babe Ruth‘s all-time MLB home run record (since surpassed by Barry Bonds).

Harper previously won the Hank Aaron Award in the National League five years ago, 2015, during his MVP Award season in which he slashed .330/.460/.649 with 42 home runs and 99 RBI. In 2020, the slugger slashed .268/.420/.542 with 13 home runs, 41 runs scored, 33 RBI, and a .962 OPS

Bryce Harper 2020 Rankings:

  • 49 walks, MLB best
  • .420 on-base percentage, top 5 in the National League
  • 41 runs scored, top 10 in the National League
  • .962 OPS, top 10 in the National League

Through Sunday, October 18, fans are invited to help decide the winners by voting at Both the fan vote and a special Hall of Fame panel — including Aaron, Roberto Alomar, Johnny Bench, Craig Biggio, Ken Griffey Jr., Eddie Murray, and Robin Yount — will help decide the award winners.

More. Phillies face tough decisions with 9 eligible free agents. light