3 Phillies Named Finalists for 2019 Gold Glove Award

Bryce Harper #3 and J.T. Realmuto #10 of the Philadelphia Phillies (Photo by Rich Schultz/Getty Images)
Bryce Harper #3 and J.T. Realmuto #10 of the Philadelphia Phillies (Photo by Rich Schultz/Getty Images) /

Three Phillies players were named finalists on Thursday for the 2019 Rawlings Gold Glove Award; winners will be announced on November 3.

Amid news on Thursday that Joe Girardi has been named the 55th manager in Philadelphia Phillies history, three players were named finalists for the 2019 Rawlings Gold Glove Awards at their respective positions: catcher J.T. Realmuto, right fielder Bryce Harper, and right-hander Aaron Nola.

RELATED | Phillies: Should Bryce Harper be a Gold Glove candidate?

The Phillies’ three Gold Glove finalists comes just one season after having no finalists the year prior, 2018, when they were last in Major League Baseball in defensive runs saved (-146).

The last Phillies player to win the Gold Glove was franchise hits leader Jimmy Rollins in 2012. At least one Phillie won a Gold Glove Award in seven straight seasons from 2006 to 2012.

Recent Phillies Gold Glove Nominees (& Winners)

  • 2018: None
  • 2017: Freddy Galvis, Shortstop
  • 2016: Freddy Galvis, Shortstop; Odubel Herrera, Center Field
  • 2015: None
  • 2014: Chase Utley, Second Base
  • 2013: None
  • 2012: Jimmy Rollins, Shortstop (Winner); Carlos Ruiz, Catcher
  • 2011: Placido Polanco, Third Base (Winner); Shane Victorino, Outfielder; Carlos Ruiz, Catcher
  • 2010: Shane Victorino, Center Field (Winner)

The fellow catcher Gold Glove finalists with Realmuto are the San Diego Padres’ Austin Hedges and the St. Louis Cardinals’ Yadier Molina. In his first season donning red pinstripes, Realmuto dazzled by throwing out an MLB-best 47 percent of runners attempting to steal base.

RELATED | Phillies catcher J.T. Realmuto a strong Gold Glove contender

Realmuto looks for his first Gold Glove, but will have to beat out Molina, who won eight straight from 2009 to 2016, as well as for the 2018 season. As MLB.com notes, first-time Gold Glove Award hopeful Hedges threw out one-third of runners trying to steal base.

Along with Harper, the Chicago Cubs’ Jason Heyward and the Los Angeles Dodgers’ Cody Bellinger were named finalists for right field. While Harper has won many awards over the course of his career since 2012, he surprisingly has yet to receive a Gold Glove Award. While he notched the third-most defensive runs saved among major-league right fielders (9), he significantly trails MVP-candidate and Gold Glove-favorite Bellinger’s 19. Heyward has previously won the Gold Glove five times, as opposed to Bellinger’s none.

At the pitcher position, the Arizona Diamondbacks’ Zack Greinke and the St. Louis Cardinals’ Jack Flaherty join Nola as finalists. Nola will have to beat out Greinke, who has received the Gold Glove Award five consecutive seasons. Assuming he remains with the Houston Astros, he would be up for consideration among American League pitchers next season. The rookie Flaherty and Nola are vying for their first Gold Glove.

Winners for the Gold Glove Awards will be announced on November 3.