Phillies History: Taking a Look Back on Phillies Cy Young Winners

5 of 5
Phillies /

2010 Cy Young Award Winner Roy Halladay

Roy Halladay was the lone Phillie to win the Cy Young award in my lifetime, and it was during the inception of baseball fandom.

The Phillies broke the bank for Halladay after the 2009 season, trading away multiple prospects to acquire him and then 2009 World Series hero Cliff Lee to make room for Halladay’s lofty salary extension.

Halladay then went on to make all those moves pay off. In 2010, Halladay led the major leagues in wins (21), complete games (9), and shutouts (4), as well as leading the National League in walks per nine innings (1.1) and strikeout-to-walk ratio (7.30). He anchored the Phillies rotation, not missing a single start as he logged a league-leading 250.2 innings.

Halladay’s Cy Young resume was boosted by his perfect game in May of that year and a no-hitter against the Reds in Game One of that year’s NLDS. In both, the Doc was truy masterful.

Next: Phillies Rumors: What Follows 40-Man Decisions?

There was no doubt in anyone’s mind that Halladay would win the Cy Young that year. He received all 32 first-place votes, earning 100 points more than the runner-up.